Obtaining Your Missouri Temporary Permit

Once you have completed your drivers education course, you will be ready to apply for your Missouri learner's permit.

Teens who have completed a Missouri-approved Drivers Ed course are ready to apply for their learner’s permit. If you’re a teen who’s ready to begin the process of seeking a license, you should do the following:

  • Download the required forms and checklists
  • Download a copy of Missouri driver’s manual or get a hard copy from the Department of Revenue office.
  • If you are under 18 years of age, a parent, guardian or certified instructor must accompany you when applying for a license.
  • Submit the completed application at your local DOR office.
  • Take along documents for proof of identity, lawful presence in Missouri, and, if your name has changed, documents proving the change of name.
  • Be sure to also bring your Social Security Card as well as $3.50 for the instruction permit/Missouri Learners permit fee.
  • Pass the vision and written knowledge test

Teenagers who want to drive and are between 15 to 18 years of age are eligible to apply for a Missouri learners permit. Learners permit applicants should study the Missouri driver’s handbook, to know the rules of the road and other laws prevailing in the state before applying to take the written exam.

Missouri learners permit applicants will find that the Missouri DOR applies a graduated drivers license program for its new drivers. A visit to the Missouri DOR website will show the applicant all the graduated steps they will have to complete before being awarded an actual Missouri driver’s license.


Graduated Missouri Drivers License Steps

The following are the steps you need to follow in order to seek a Graduated Missouri driver license.

 

Missouri Instruction/Learner’s Permit:

  • Any driver interested in driving must be at least 15 years of age to apply for the instruction permit. This permit is valid for one year.
  • The applicant must pass the vision, road sign and written test.
  • The applicant can only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.

Intermediate License:

  • Applicants must be between 16 and 18 years of age.
  • An intermediate license is valid for two years. Applicants must hold the Missouri intermediate license for at least 182 days.
  • Applicants should not have any alcohol related offense in last year and no traffic conviction in last 6 months.
  • Verification must be given by a qualified person that the applicant has received 40 hours of driving instruction, which includes ten hours of driving at night.
  • Applicants must pass the vision, road sign and written test.
  • They must also pass the driving test

Learners Permit:

  • Download the required forms and checklists
  • Download a copy of Missouri driver’s manual or get a hard copy from the Department of Revenue office.
  • If you are under 18 years of age, a parent, guardian or certified instructor must accompany you when applying for a license.
  • Submit the completed application at your local DOR office.
  • Take along documents for proof of identity, lawful presence in Missouri, and, if your name has changed, documents proving the change of name.
  • Be sure to also bring your Social Security Card as well as $3.50 for the instruction permit/Missouri Learners permit fee.
  • Pass the vision and written knowledge test.

Restrictions For Missouri Learners /Intermediate License

Along with the privilege of becoming a driver, the applicant must also agree to follow the mandated restrictions that come with their learners permit. These restrictions are:

  • Applicants cannot drive with more than one passenger under 19 years of age for the first six months.
  • After six months, the applicant can drive with up to three underage passengers.
  • Applicants are not permitted to drive alone between 10 p.m. and 5 p.m. except in some case of emergency.

Renewal

Similar to a driver’s license, a Missouri learners permit sometimes needs to be renewed. Missouri learner's permit applicants should be aware of the date they acquire their learner’s permit, so that they may renew it in time if necessary. Applicants should be aware that these permits are valid for one year. Renewal of this permit requires no test to be given.